Who is God?


I recently wrote a blog post on “How Do You View God?”I have been going through the book of Ezekiel for a class that I am taking on the major prophets. I have to read the whole book of Ezekiel in three days. As I was looking at this book I immediately looked at how many chapters there were in the book then put down a goal of how many chapters I needed to read every single day in order to accomplish reading the entire book in three days. There are many questions that I need to get answered, but the main question that I noticed in the book of Ezekiel is who is God according to Ezekiel? The one Phrase or theme that comes out of Ezekiel is that the Lord is a Sovereign Lord. When the people of Israel have totally turned there back on God this is what the Lord continued to tell Ezekiel. Remember in ministry we need to be directed by God because in the end it’s not what we want, but what God’s plan is for our church. Here are those verses that I have come across.

Ezekiel NLT
3:11 Then go to your people in exile and say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says!’ Do this whether they listen to you or not.”

3:27 But when I give you a message, I will loosen your tongue and let you speak. Then you will say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says!’ Those who choose to listen will listen, but those who refuse will refuse, for they are rebels.

4:14 Then I said, “OSovereign Lord, must I be defiled by using human dung? For I have never been defiled before. From the time I was a child until now I have never eaten any animal that died of sickness or was killed by other animals. I have never eaten any meat forbidden by the law.”

5:5 “This is what the Sovereign Lord says: This is an illustration of what will happen to Jerusalem. I placed her at the center of the nations,

5:7 “Therefore, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: You people have behaved worse than your neighbors and have refused to obey my decrees and regulations. You have not even lived up to the standards of the nations around you.

5:8 Therefore, I myself, the Sovereign Lord, am now your enemy. I will punish you publicly while all the nations watch.

6:3 Proclaim this message from the Sovereign Lord against the mountains of Israel. This is what the Sovereign Lord says to the mountains and hills and to the ravines and valleys: I am about to bring war upon you, and I will smash your pagan shrines.

6:11 “This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Clap your hands in horror, and stamp your feet. Cry out because of all the detestable sins the people of Israel have committed. Now they are going to die from war and famine and disease.

7:2 “Son of man, this is what the Sovereign Lord says to Israel:

“The end is here!

Wherever you look—

east, west, north, or south—

your land is finished.

7:5 “This is what the Sovereign Lord says:

Disaster after disaster

is coming your way!

8:1 Then on September 17, during the sixth year of King Jehoiachin’s captivity, while the leaders of Judah were in my home, the Sovereign Lord took hold of me.

9:8 While they were out killing, I was all alone. I fell face down on the ground and cried out, “OSovereign Lord! Will your fury against Jerusalem wipe out everyone left in Israel?”

10:5The moving wings of the cherubim sounded like the voice of God Almighty and could be heard even in the outer courtyard.

11:7 “Therefore, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: This city is an iron pot all right, but the pieces of meat are the victims of your injustice. As for you, I will soon drag you from this pot.

11:8 I will bring on you the sword of war you so greatly fear, says the Sovereign Lord.

11:13 While I was still prophesying, Pelatiah son of Benaiah suddenly died. Then I fell face down on the ground and cried out, “OSovereign Lord, are you going to kill everyone in Israel?”

11:16 “Therefore, tell the exiles, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: Although I have scattered you in the countries of the world, I will be a sanctuary to you during your time in exile.

11:17 I, the Sovereign Lord, will gather you back from the nations where you have been scattered, and I will give you the land of Israel once again.’

11:21 But as for those who long for vile images and detestable idols, I will repay them fully for their sins. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

12:10 Say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: These actions contain a message for King Zedekiah in Jerusalem and for all the people of Israel.’

12:23 Tell the people, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will put an end to this proverb, and you will soon stop quoting it.’ Now give them this new proverb to replace the old one: ‘The time has come for every prophecy to be fulfilled!’

12:25 For I am the Lord! If I say it, it will happen. There will be no more delays, you rebels of Israel. I will fulfill my threat of destruction in your own lifetime. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

12:28 Therefore, tell them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: No more delay! I will now do everything I have threatened. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!’”

Leave a comment