Renew Yourself Today


As leaders we get tired, but what are you doing about it? Over the past few years we have seen Pastors at excellent churches who are reaching people, but somewhere in the mix a pastor resigns or is having to step down because of some type of moral failure. A lot of this comes from a constant place of doing a lot, but not enough stepping back to rest. This last post I did several years ago when I was at a place of being tired.

As a children’s pastor it’s easy to get bogged down with a lot of things that are happening in the church trying to plan out a service, get volunteers and even order supplies, but as I sat at my desk the other day I was thinking about how some of this stuff really takes a lot out of you. It’s not like any other job where you can clock out at 5 p.m. You are always on call, but as I sat at my desk tired trying not to let my mind wander into the abyss I started thinking about my volunteers that help me on a regular basis. If I am tired then I wonder what they are thinking as well.

This word came to my mind “Renew” which means to “reestablish on a new, usually improved, basis or make new or like new”. As my mind started to really dig into this word there are a lot of things that people renew such as: Drivers License, Inspection Sticker, License Plates, Marriages. These are all good things that we need to renew because if we don’t then either we will get some type of ticket or we will fail in our marriages.

This is what we don’t renew which is our calling that God has given us. We need to reestablish ourselves, improve ourselves to make us better to serve the kingdom of God if we don’t continue to refresh ourselves or renew ourselves then we will fall into the abyss of thinking that we are all in it alone.

As you read this the BIG thing at stake is your family. If you are not Renewing yourself then how can you enjoy your family? How can your family enjoy you? Take some time to evaluate your life. Don’t just blow it off, but really look at it at list what your priorities are? Do you have a time to step back and Renew yourself or are you going a billion miles an hour trying to accomplish all you can?

Leave a Reply

